Understanding the 5 Psychosexual Stages of Human Development According to Freudian Theory

psychosexual stages

the childhood stages of development (oral, anal, phallic, latency, genital) during which, according to Freud, the id’s pleasure-seeking energies focus on distinct erogenous zones.

The psychosexual stages are a theory developed by Sigmund Freud which hypothesize that human development is driven by sexual impulses and conflicts. According to this theory, there are five psychosexual stages which individuals go through during their childhood:

1. Oral Stage: This stage spans from birth to around 1.5 years. During this stage, the child’s primary focus is on the mouth. The primary activity is nursing, which helps in stimulating pleasure and satisfaction.

2. Anal Stage: This stage spans from around 1.5 to 3 years. During this stage, the child’s focus shifts to the anus. Toilet training during this stage forms an important part of the child’s life as the child learns how to control their bowel and bladder movements.

3. Phallic Stage: This stage spans from 3 to 6 years. During this stage, the child develops a subconscious attraction towards their opposite-sex parent. This creates a notion of competition with the same-sex parent.

4. Latency Stage: This stage spans from 6 to 11 years. During this stage, the child’s sexual impulses go dormant, and their focus shifts towards socializing activities like playing games and interaction with peers.

5. Genital Stage: This stage begins during adolescence and continues through adulthood. During this stage, the individual’s sexual impulses awaken, and the focus is on gaining physical and emotional intimacy with a partner.

The psychosexual stages theory is widely discussed, and many criticisms surround its scientific validity. However, it is an essential theory in the field of psychology as it represents the notion of developmental psychology and how individuals perceive and interact with the world around them.

More Answers:

Understanding the Process of Replication in DNA and RNA: Role of Enzymes, Proteins, and Primase
Understanding the Importance and Types of Reliability in Social Science Research
Understanding Receptive Language: Improving Language Comprehension Skills for Effective Communication.

Error 403 The request cannot be completed because you have exceeded your quota. : quotaExceeded


Recent Posts

Don't Miss Out! Sign Up Now!

Sign up now to get started for free!