Components of a Reflex Arc: From Sensory Receptors to Gray Matter

A reflex arc originates from the/agray mattersensory receptorbrainstemmotor neuron

sensory receptor

A reflex arc is a neural pathway that mediates a reflex action. It is a simple, automatic response that is triggered by a stimulus. There are five basic components of a reflex arc, including a sensory receptor, a sensory neuron, an interneuron, a motor neuron, and an effector organ.

The sensory receptor is the specialized structure that detects the stimulus. This could be a touch receptor, a temperature receptor, a pressure receptor, etc. The sensory neuron carries the signal from the receptor to the spinal cord or brainstem.

The gray matter of the spinal cord or brainstem contains the interneuron, which processes the incoming signal and determines the appropriate response. The motor neuron carries the signal from the spinal cord or brainstem to the effector organ, which is usually a muscle or gland.

Therefore, the option that correctly identifies the structure from which a reflex arc originates would be ‘gray matter.’ This is because the interneuron, which is responsible for integrating the sensory input and directing the motor output, is housed within the gray matter of the spinal cord or brainstem.

More Answers:

Critical Role of Bronchi in Respiratory System for Efficient Breathing
Importance of Tracheal Cartilage for the Maintenance of Airway Patency
Neurons: The Essential Building Blocks of the Nervous System

Error 403 The request cannot be completed because you have exceeded your quota. : quotaExceeded


Recent Posts

Don't Miss Out! Sign Up Now!

Sign up now to get started for free!