Get to Know Helminths: Parasitic Nematodes and Platyhelminthes and How They Affect Humans

2 phyla of helminths

nematodes and platyhelminthes

Helminths are a diverse group of parasitic worms that belong to the Kingdom Animalia. There are two main phyla of helminths:

1. Nematoda: Nematodes, also called roundworms, are the largest phylum of helminths. They are elongated in shape and have a complete digestive system. Nematodes can be free-living or parasitic, and they can infect various animals, including humans. Examples of nematodes that infect humans include Ascaris lumbricoides (intestinal roundworm), Trichinella spiralis (the cause of trichinosis), and Wuchereria bancrofti (the cause of elephantiasis).

2. Platyhelminthes: Platyhelminthes, also called flatworms, are a phylum of parasitic worms that are flattened in shape. Unlike nematodes, they do not have a complete digestive system, but instead have a simple gut and absorb nutrients through their body surface. Platyhelminthes includes several important human parasites, such as the liver fluke (Fasciola hepatica) and the blood fluke (Schistosoma species), both of which can cause serious diseases.

More Answers:

Exploring Platyhelminthes: The Diverse World of Invertebrates, from Free-living to Parasitic Species
Exploring Platyhelminthes: Characteristics, Examples, Reproduction, Ecological Significance, and Human Health Impact
Discovering Platyhelminthes: Characteristics, Diversity, and Ecological Importance

Error 403 The request cannot be completed because you have exceeded your quota. : quotaExceeded


Recent Posts

Don't Miss Out! Sign Up Now!

Sign up now to get started for free!